Until it Hurts to stop by Jennifer Hubbard

                                                          Tittle: Until It Hurts To Stop

17572888Author: Jennifer R. Hubbard

Length: 256

Series: –

Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers

Published Date: Sept 12th 2015

Gender:  Romance,Young adult & Fiction

Rating: ★★★★ (4 OUT OF 5)

Format: Hardcover

The Book:

When you can’t trust anyone, how can you ever feel safe?
In seventh grade, Maggie Camden was the class outcast. Every day, the other girls tripped her, pinched her, trapped her in the bathroom, told her she would be better off dead. Four years have passed since then, and Maggie’s tormentors seem to have moved on. The ringleader of them all, Raleigh Barringer, even moved out of town. But Maggie has never stopped watching for attacks, and every laugh still sounds like it’s at her expense. The only time Maggie feels at peace is when she’s hiking up in the mountains with her best friend, Nick. Lately, though, there’s a new sort of tension between the two of them—a tension both dangerous and delicious. But how can Maggie expect anything more out of Nick when all she’s ever been told is that she’s ugly, she’s pathetic, she’s unworthy of love? And how can she ever feel safe, now that Raleigh Barringer is suddenly—terrifyingly—back in town?

 Review:

    After putting off this book for 2 weeks I’ve finally managed to finish it. Right now. At 1:48 AM and uff what a breath of fresh air it was

   So the story lines follows Maggie a girl who was intensely bullied in junior high and still dealing with the every day flashbacks of those awful years even now as a HS junior and the main bullied is living in Italy. But things change, now that the former bully is back in town Maggie is scared that she will be under attack.

    Although Maggie is not alone anymore, Sylvie, a girl she met in HS and Nick he best friend and heart fluttering guy are with her, with everything going on  Maggie ha managed to push the two people she cares about the most and thinks she could’ve probably injured the only things keeping her above water, besides having a cheerful mother who keeps  nagging her about college extracurricular activities Maggie has taken a turn for the worst. Expecting the attacks, old habits returning and the little self-confidence taking a hit.

    It’s been so long since I read a book set in a high school  and I can say that I wasn’t exited about it. It actually took me about 60 pages to actually get into the story and the book is about 250 pages, but the rest of the book was just so amazing. Hubbard had a way of just pulling me into Maggie’s train of thoughts, of understanding even the most bizarre and crazy actions. I was expecting Teenage angst, lot of it, and I got it but I didn’t expect to like it and I did. I say it’s a fair exchange.

   I’m a sucker for good bullying story lines, they pull a string of my heart , they make me think, and here. even when it’s not happening at present you still feel every single emotion coming from Maggie at the moment It happened. Maggie was  and interesting character, she had gone through so many things in her life and she was so damaged, for lack of a better word, that I really felt for her, but it wasn’t until after the half way mark we get to see the full effect of the real damaged she suffered. There is from the beginning a very dark and heavy emotional element that doesn’t get exploited or explained but if we pay attention we do get to see it, we do get to see how far her thoughts go from a point to another.

   In the story we also have Nick, who was just as confused as she was. I love the fact that he is not the perfect male hero, he has issues, he has insecurities, lots of them but that doesn’t stop him for the most part from trying to figure out what he wants. Sylvie was a good character, I do wish we would’ve seen more of her, because she was just so hilarious. I think Vanessa’s character was what moved the story and her relationship with nick, I honestly don’t  think that if it hadn’t been for her Maggie would’ve put her head out of the ground. But the character that I really liked was Adrianna’s, I didn’t want to like her, not after everything that when down with Maggie, but she ended up steeling my heart a little bit  and I’m happy that we got to see that side of her. Raleigh….I can’t deal with her. GET HER THE POISONOUS MUSHROOM .

    It deals mainly with self-discovery. finding who you are, where you belong and realizing that maybe, you belong anywhere you love. with anyone you love. I felt the importance that is discovering out true passion and not letting other dictate US. As well as knowing that people act in awful ways without meaning to, while we might think that is not in pur power to hurt someone is easier that it looks. 

   This book was a hit for me, and for someone who thought I want going to like it let me tell you I cried, a lot. I sight, a lot. A laughed, some. Lol but if you’re looking for a light, romantic and dramatic book this is your book. I do have to say that if you’re not into fluffy happy ending books don’t read it but if you are younger or/and enjoy easy dialog and cute stories this is it.

HAVE any of you read it?

What do you guys think of Bullying in books?

Hey, Hey! what do you think!?

