The DUFF | Kody Keplinger

8989348Tittle: The DUFF

Author: Kody Keplinger

Length: 270

Series: –

Publisher: Poppy

Published Date: Sept 7 2010

Gender:  Romance,Young Adult & Fiction

Rating: ★★★★ (4 OUT OF 5)

Format: Ebook

Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is cynical and loyal, and she doesn’t think she’s the prettiest of her friends by a long shot. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. In fact, Bianca hates him. And when he nicknames her “Duffy,” she throws her Coke in his face.

But things aren’t so great at home right now. Desperate for a distraction, Bianca ends up kissing Wesley. And likes it. Eager for escape, she throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with Wesley.

Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out that Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.

Review:

No matter where you go or what you do to distract yourself, reality catches up with you eventually.”

To start of I have to say that I picked this book because I pulled it out of my TBR jar which I’m super committed with at the moment, not because i was interested in reading it. I’ve never read anything by the author and I had to idea what the books was really going to be about. I’ve had it on my EReader for more than a year, and it was one of those books that I thought were Over hyped. Seriously Over hyped. Also, there has been so many Mixed reviews about it that I have to confess I was super scared about reading it even when I don’t like to be persuaded by other reviews. Hence why it’s been on my shelve for so long.

Initially I planned to start reading it though-out the whole month. one chapter here , another one there. But when I read the first chapter I was enchanted. I’m not going to lie and say otherwise. I really read this book in one sitting today. And I loved it. The thing that really pulled me in is that this book is super entertaining, From page one we are pulled into Bianca’s world and her perspective on things. Is super fast paced which is in my opinion what makes it so great, because in no moment I felt it dragged or forced in any way (except for one scene with her dad, that it just came out of nowhere but I understand that in order for the story to move forward something needed to happen but still not my favorite). On the contrary, I found the story line and the writing style to flow extremely well.

Can we talk about the characters please? I started the book thinking that I was going to read about some poor girl who is super sad when she hears about being the DUFF, by Wesley no less. but oh no. Bianca was just a breath of fresh air, in her cynical, weird, sarcastic way she deal with it even when it bother her. Even when it hurt and she was far from perfect. She bottle things up, she was judgmental, she didn’t like change so much either. But she was also so real and true to herself that she was the reason I kept on  going.

And Wesley. I felt that even though he was the male protagonist, to me was just like a background character. He was there as a nice fixture , very nice, but I liked that the story didn’t center around him. Okay, I did love him and he was super hot and in his way charming and apart from all that he was the catalysis of the whole book. But he was also loyal and caring. But still the story center a lot more around Bianca than him. Still, I loved him.

The banter between Bianca and Wesley was hilarious. They really got into each-others nerves but there was an undeniable chemistry between them that was very sweet yet sexy.

Your sense of humor needs some work, then,’ Wesley suggested. ‘Most girls find my jokes charming.

Those girls must have IQs low enough to trip over.

And Jessica and Casey were adorable. They are Bianca’s BFF and they were supportive, funny and just adorable. Bianca’s  and Wesley’s parents on the other side suffered from the YA parent syndrome, according to Epic READS, they are the true definition of that; Clueless, absent and hurtful and violent in occasion.

On the story line character grow I found that it was very good. At the beginning the story is light and fluffy but as the story progress and becomes darker and complex the character of Bianca and Wesley become also more complex and more layers are shown. It was excellent on that part. I wasn’t expecting anything of what happened, I truly thought I was going to read another sweet Ya romance novel but this one was very different, it deal A LOT with sex and family drama. It dealed with the decision and coping and taking responsibility for what others do.,

I would totally recommend the book, the movie….I haven’t watch but it looks extremely different from the books. I don’t know why they do that. But really good book!

Wesley Rush doesn’t chase girls, but I’m chasing you.

Have you guys read the book?!

Have a great night guys!

Hey, Hey! what do you think!?

