Review |The Raven Boys By Maggie Stiefvater

17675462Tittle: The Raven Boys

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Length: 408 Pages

Series: The Raven Cicle #1

Publisher: Scholastic Inc

Published Date: July 30th , 2013

Gender:  Fantacy,Romance, ,ParnormalYoung Adult & Fiction

Rating: ★★★★★ (5 OUT OF 5)

Format: Paperback

The book:

         Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past.        Blue never sees them–until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her.
His name is Gansey, a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.
    But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul whose emotions range from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher who notices many things but says very little.
     For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She doesn’t believe in true love, and never thought this would be a problem. But as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore

My review:

You know that quote that says “I read to live other lives. Bla bla bla”  the one I think every book worm loves, well, this book to me was the definition of that quote.

If I say I liked this book, I would be Lying. Because like is not a strong enough word for I how feel about this book. I freaking loved it. I’ll be the first to say that The Shiver Trilogy was good and I enjoyed it but The Raven Boys was just phenomenal. From page one I felt like I was transported to this world Maggie Stiefvater created, where old Time lords , and ghost and magic Is possible.

We have blue, a 16 year old girl who lives in a house full of women who are clairvoyants while all she can do is just enhance their strength, she can’t really do anything. Not that it matters since all she wants to do is be “normal”. Living in the little town of Herrieta, were inexplicable things can happen blue has two rules, Never interact with the Aglionby academy boys and Never Fall in love. Did I mention she will kill her true love with a kiss?

“She wasn’t interested in telling other people’s futures. She was interested in going out and finding her own.”

Then we have The Raven Boys, Raven because that’s how the people of Herrieta call all the rich boys who attend Aglionby Academy because of the school symbol. Adam, Noah, Ronan And Gansey, the boys couldn’t be more different but they somehow brought together by the inexplicable force that Gansey is.

“She recognized the strange happiness that came from loving something without knowing why you did, that strange happiness that was sometimes so big that it felt like sadness.”

    Oh Gansey *Dreamy Eyes here* . Growing around privilege, is one thing, but Richard Gansey The third is being groomed to be the next leader of his family, although all he wants to do is witness something, something that proves that there is more to what we’re doing here, something Magical. Like magic. He is charming, focused and Loyal to the T, and since moving to Herrieta he enlisted all the other boys as his best friends and adventure companion.

In the end, he was nobody to Adam, he was nobody to Ronan. Adam spit his words back at him and Ronan squandered however many second chances he gave him. Gansey was just a guy with a lot of stuff and a hole inside him that chewed away more of his heart every year.”

By some strange circumstances,like Neeve getting to town, like a weird something in the air, like a whispered name at the graveyard, Blue becomes a part of the little group and together they face moments and adventures that will change their life’s and that is far more difficult and dangerous that they ever bargained for.

“My words are unerring tools of
destruction, and I’ve come unequipped with the ability to disarm them.”

I loved  all of this, I had this book on my shelf for ONE YEAR, and I just picked it up. I had read some reviews about how it was somewhat hard to get into this book but for me was the total opposite. From the prologue I was in all the way. I  do have to admit , there is a lot of world building, a lot of history, a lot of people and a lot of names, and it did take me a little while to finally connect everything in my brain but it was just so beautiful. They way this girl wrote this book was poetic, I’m not trying to sound cheese or anything but it was truly a work of art. I felt like I was the sixth member of their little gang and that is the truest feeling you can get from a book.

4 thoughts on “Review |The Raven Boys By Maggie Stiefvater

  1. I read Stiefvater’s Wolves of Mercy Falls years ago but thought they were okay. And I have to admit, I’ve been putting this off as well despite hearing wonderful things. Great review, I really love how you incorporated the quotes!

    • Thank you so much! 🙂
      I really loved this one. I read the first two books of shiver, and i liked them… But not my favorite. This one on the other hand, hands down one of my fav books of the year so far. There is not so much romance as the others, its more adventure, and fun stuff.
      I would totally recommend you this book!

Hey, Hey! what do you think!?

