Way Back Wednesday (#1) | Night By Elie Wiesel

Flashback time?

Way Back Wednesday is a Book Meme created by April at A Well Read Woman with the aim to write mini book reviews on books read in the past, that left a lasting impression. You know what kind of books I am talking about… The ones that you have read multiple times, and they still bring you nostalgia. Books like these are the reason you enjoy reading.

1617Night is a work by Elie Wiesel about his experience with his father in the Nazi German concentration camps at Auschwitz and Buchenwald in 1944–1945, at the height of the Holocaust and toward the end of the Second World War. In just over 100 pages of sparse and fragmented narrative, Wiesel writes about the death of God and his own increasing disgust with humanity, reflected in the inversion of the father–child relationship as his father declines to a helpless state and Wiesel becomes his resentful teenage caregiver.

Penetrating and powerful, as personal as The Diary Of Anne Frank, Nightawakens the shocking memory of evil at its absolute and carries with it the unforgettable message that this horror must never be allowed to happen again.

My Flashback to Night!

    I picked this book because if a book has left a lasting experience in me is this one. I read this my senior year of high school, it wasn’t even in my reading list for that yeah but I remembered it once when I was at B&N and I picked it up right  before winter break. Intense 29 hours followed while I read this book.

I haven’t read it in years, and I know that if I read it now it will be a different experience that what I felt at 17; And that is one of the reasons I don’t want to do it. When I read it although I felt sorrow it gave me a certain surge of empowerment. I’ve been fascinated with everything Nazi and German since I read The Diary of Anne Frank but by the time senior year came I hadn’t read anything that described the treatment and cruelty so perfectly. Saying that , Night was a defined shock for me, it rocked my believes and it made acknowledge that I have power, even when my circumstances are the worst I think they’ll ever be. Even when I made some awful decisions, my resilience is the thing I have to focus on.

That’s how I remembered it. I know some friends who hated it and some loved it. I Loved it and it has a prized spot on my bookshelf

Have you read Night? 

5 thoughts on “Way Back Wednesday (#1) | Night By Elie Wiesel

  1. Thanks so much for participating! WOW, what a read! I haven’t read NIGHT but after reading the description I can see why it would have had such an impact on you! ESPECIALLY as a teenager! And I can understand not wanting to reread it now as an adult. I have tons of books like that. I’m afraid if I reread certain books, it will lose that ‘magic’!
    🙂

Hey, Hey! what do you think!?

