Movie Review: Still Alice

MV5BMjIzNzAxNjY1Nl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMDg4ODQxMzE@._V1_SX214_AL_Title: Still Alice

Release day: September 8th 2014

Director: Wash Westmoreland

Rating IMDb: 7.5 /10

My rating:  ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

Gender: Drama

PG-13
Duration: 101 Minutes

Synopsis 

            Dr. Alice Howland (Julianne Moore) is a renowned linguistics professor at Columbia University. When words begin to escape her and she starts becoming lost on her daily jogs, Alice must come face-to-face with a devastating diagnosis: early-onset Alzheimer’s disease. As the once-vibrant woman struggles to hang on to her sense of self for as long as possible, Alice’s three grown children must watch helplessly as their mother disappears more and more with each passing day.

My Review.

“My yesterdays are disappearing, and my tomorrows are uncertain, so what do I live for? I live for each day. I live in the moment. Some tomorrow soon, I’ll forget that I stood before you and gave this speech. But just because I’ll forget it some tomorrow doesn’t mean that I didn’t live every second of it today. I will forget today, but that doesn’t mean that today didn’t matter.”

     Imagine have you life stripped away. The things you excelled at, the things you knew like the back of your hands gone. Imagine not remembering simple things, like tying your shoes or your home address. Not remembering yourself. That;s exactly what happened to Alice Howland when she was diagnosed with early-onset Alzheimer’s . And I can certainly see why Julianne Moore won an Oscar for this movie that’s based on the Book Still Alice By Lisa Genova.

      Alice Howland was a Columbia U linguistic teacher, she was constantly giving out speeches about her book on the subject until she started noticing that things just slipped her mind: she couldn’t remember small words, she got disoriented in familiar places, she didn’t know what she had to teach in class… Things just kept adding up until she when to the neurologist and indeed she was diagnosed.

“… just because [butterflies’] lives were short didn’t mean they were tragic… See, they have a beautiful life.”

If you are looking for a happy ending , we-are-all-happy kind of movie, this is not the movie for you. But, if you are looking for something deep and meaningful and real , I’m 100% backing you to see this movie. To show us the other side of things , I would say, some scenes, especially with Kirsten Stewart were too much for me and my poor heart.

images (3)

This movie was beautiful. It was so carefully crafted that it was painful to watch at times. The way it was so accurate , so truthful to the disease but never gross, it was heartbreaking but the most painful thing was how much you felt for Alice. Julianne Moore  performance was phenomenal, she broke my heart and she made me laugh and see life in a different way and she thought me that you have to hold on for as long as you can. Kirsten stewart was amazing. And Alec Baldwin, I loved him but … UGH! I understand why it happened.

images (2)

The cast , the interactions, the struggles felt real and true. I don’t know why it took me so long to watch , the fact that this movie gives us not usual caregiver perspective but the sick POV is not something we commonly see, neither is the fact that they are treating with a degrading disease, not something curable. As someone who has a very close relationship with Alzheimer’s this movie was spot on, they did spared us the little details of the diseases but addressed it in a way that was beautiful but haunting. By the end of the movie i was weeping like a child.

download

I can’t say a lot more, I’m getting teary eyes just writing this. All i can say is that what I’ve put into words is not perfect, it’s probably not very understandable but know that this movie is genius. It’s beautiful and has got to be the best movie I’ve seen from Julianne Moore.  And MY GOD! That last Scene.

“She almost thought she’d said the words aloud, but she hadn’t. They remained trapped in her head, but not because they were barricaded by plaques and tangles. She just couldn’t say them aloud”

 

Hey, Hey! what do you think!?

