Book Review: The Promise Of Amazing By Robin Constantine

17844678Tittle: The Promise Of Amazing

Author: Robin Constantine

Length: 371 Pages

Series: N/A

Publisher:   Blazer + Bray

Published Date:  December 31st , 2013

Gender:  Fiction, Romace, Young Adult & Contemporary

Rating: ★★★.75( 3.75 OUT OF 5).

Wren Caswell is average. Ranked in the middle of her class at Sacred Heart, she’s not popular, but not a social misfit. Wren is the quiet, “good” girl who’s always done what she’s supposed to—only now in her junior year, this passive strategy is backfiring. She wants to change, but doesn’t know how.
Grayson Barrett was the king of St. Gabe’s. Star of the lacrosse team, top of his class, on a fast track to a brilliant future—until he was expelled for being a “term paper pimp.” Now Gray is in a downward spiral and needs to change, but doesn’t know how.
One fateful night their paths cross when Wren, working at her family’s Arthurian-themed catering hall, performs the Heimlich on Gray as he chokes on a cocktail weenie, saving his life literally and figuratively. What follows is the complicated, awkward, hilarious, and tender tale of two teens shedding their pasts, figuring out who they are—and falling in love.

My Review:

“I kept thinking of her eyes, the depths of them, the way she looked right into me, and I wasn’t afraid of what she’d find.”

Did I love it? ….ummm not sure.

Did I liked it a lot? Heck yes. ❤ 

      I started with really high hopes with this one, The cover is super cute, the premise is Amazing but when it came to the book per se…. well it wasn’t what I expected (some times). After saving Grayson at a weeding Wren sees something in him that she can’t describe as does Grayson, These two start a friendship of sorts that soon becomes more, but while Wren things she has him figured out it’s not true; Because he is hiding something that can damage not only their relationship but his entire life. It’s a really sweet insta-young love. It’s a very fast paced book, and entertaining, It’s told from two POV (Wren and Grayson) so you get to see the whole thing playing out. 

     Wren was a great character, she was funny, she felt real and I really liked where she was at that point of her life (Perfect situation for disaster and greatness)  At that age that was me. Quite, applied and had great friends. If it was me in that situation things would have been the same, I mean I still go too crazy over boys, which brings us to Grayson.

    Oh Grayson I was expecting so much more from him. He was the typical, hot, rich, problematic but smart guy trying to do good. He knows he’s cute and likable so he thinks he can get away with things, and he often does. But then he gets kicked out of his school for being a Test Pimp and all his future is going down the drain. Meanwhile Wren is working hard to get what she wants (Even if she has no idea what that is). He is trying very hard to just move on and face the reality that sometimes people are not there for you. It;s not only friends and school problems he has but family problems as well, specially with the secrets he’s hiding. I liked him and he has his moments most of the time. 

    The supporting characters where sunny and each had their own struggles, Even the ones you wanted to hate had something that pulled you in, some little insight as to why they might be like that, except Ava, all but Ava ( I really hate Ava) and that was one of my favorite things, because pretty much everyone has something good in them and Robin Constantine made sure you saw that. 

     For the most part it was cute and funny and relatable. My problem with it is that it fell too unreal  towards the end that’s the only reason I give a 3.75 (Which is not really a bad thing) It was good, the drama and the development but i just didn’t really agree with how quickly things got fixed,( I mean she forgave him pretty much the next day, and he didn’t even do anything to earn it. ) the rest was perfect, the love story I loved and the things that happen when so mysterious that you just wanted to know what was happening. 

“That grin was pulling me into the deep end of the pool. The scary part, the part that made me search desperately for some other task I could lose myself in, was that there was a small, insistent voice urging me to dive right in.”

Hey, Hey! what do you think!?

