Book REVIEW: Attachments By Rainbow Rowell

8909152Tittle: Attachments

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Length: 323 Pages

Series: N/A

Publisher:  Dutton Adults

Published Date:  April 14th 2011

Gender:  Romance,  Adult & Contemporary

Rating: ★★★★★ ( 5 OUT OF 5).

 

From Goodreads:

“Hi, I’m the guy who reads your e-mail, and also, I love you . . . “
Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder know that somebody is monitoring their work e-mail. (Everybody in the newsroom knows. It’s company policy.) But they can’t quite bring themselves to take it seriously. They go on sending each other endless and endlessly hilarious e-mails, discussing every aspect of their personal lives.
Meanwhile, Lincoln O’Neill can’t believe this is his job now- reading other people’s e-mail. When he applied to be “internet security officer,” he pictured himself building firewalls and crushing hackers- not writing up a report every time a sports reporter forwards a dirty joke.
When Lincoln comes across Beth’s and Jennifer’s messages, he knows he should turn them in. But he can’t help being entertained-and captivated-by their stories.
By the time Lincoln realizes he’s falling for Beth, it’s way too late to introduce himself.

What would he say . . . ?

My Review: 

   I can’t be the only one who can see this been a movie right? It was visually amazing. It reminded me of I Got Mail meets When Harry Met Sally and those are two of my favorite movies. Can you say I loved this book? Don’t just say it, scream it! Shout it!

I LOVED ATTACHMENTS!

   So attachments? Here we have Lincoln who couldn’t hate his job more if it was possible. He applied for an internet security job at a newspaper and ended up reading people’s emails on a daily basis at night. Talk about dreadful. Until he stumbles with Beth and Jennifer Emails. They are the highlight of his night, He should warn them their emails are being flagged but he doesn’t  ending up liking them. Specially Beth. But when information is given that left him speechless, he knows that his chances with her are now zero because of what he does. Can through email and love at first sight be real? Can they work?

I giggle. I giggle and giggle and giggle and laughed and blushed and was transported back to that time and I loved every minute of it. And Rainbow Rowell has done It again. Every time I read on of her books I end up the same, a giggling girl with red cheeks and wide eyes sitting at her Uni crushing a book to her chest like a crazy person. I am that person.

This book was light and cheery. It was funny and at the same time inspiring but most of all romantic. I mean can we talk about Lincoln? The massive, cute guy? The sweet, nerdy guy? The romantic and loyal guy? He was amazing. How about Beth? The funny, pretty girl?  The movie lover?  The tall girl with the pink pants?  The realistic and loyal friend? She was amazing too.

More than anything the book was real, even through all the romantic stuff. Most people go through that time when we don’t know what we want to be, or how we’ll get there. For some that last more, for other less. For Lincoln it was more. Finding that thing he was meant to do, finding the courage to step up and take what he wanted; took a while, but it felt so right when he did it. That’s what I like about this, the realization that life is not easy, that not all of us have large groups of friends to help us out but that the few we have are amazing, that not all of us have it all figure out, but that at the end of the day we are responsible for our choices and life’s and we should, even if it takes longer, take charge of it. ( At least that’s my take on it )

So after more giggling I’m happy and exited and it was, yet again, AMAZING!

Quotes!

  • “There are moments when you can’t believe something wonderful is happening. And there are moments when your entire consciousness is filled with knowing absolutely that something wonderful is happening.”
  • “I’d know you in the dark,” he said. “From a thousand miles away. There’s nothing you could become that I haven’t already fallen in love with.”
  • I pictured a girl who made every moment, everything she touched, and everyone around her feel lighter and sweeter.
    “I pictured you,” he said. “I just didn’t know what you looked like.
    “And then, when I did know what you looked like, you looked like the girl who was all those things. You looked like the girl I loved.”
  • “I don’t know if I even believe in that anymore. The right guy. The perfect guy. The one. I’ve lost faith in “the”.
    How do you feel about “a” and “an”?
    Indifferent.
    So you’re considering a life without articles?”
  • “Every woman wants a man who’ll fall in love with her soul as well as her body.”
Hey, Hey! what do you think!?

