Book Review: Rival By Penelope Douglas

descargaTittle: Rival

Author: Penelope Douglas

Length: 366 Pages

Series:  Fall Away #2

Publisher: Penguin Group (USA)

Published Date: August 26th, 2014

Gender: NA, Contemporary, Collegeand Romance.

Rating: ★★★★ ( 4 OUT OF 5).

How I got it?:  Ebook

    Madoc and Fallon.

Two estranged teenagers playing games that push the boundaries between love and war…
She’s back.
For the two years she’s been away at boarding school, there was no word from her. Back when we lived in the same house, she used to cut me down during the day and then leave her door open for me at night.
I was stupid then, but now I’m ready to beat her at her own game…
I’m back.
Two years and I can tell he still wants me, even if he acts like he’s better than me.
But I won’t be scared away. Or pushed down. I’ll call his bluff and fight back. That’s what he wants, right? As long as I keep my guard up, he’ll never know how much he affects me…

The Book

“But breaking was beautiful. It hurt, and it was an uphill climb back to sanity, but you came back stronger, fiercer, and more solid than you were before.”

                  The second book in the Fall Away series and Penelope Douglas did a great job with this one. I’ll be honest and say that I didn’t like it as much as Bully and Until You but it Rivas was great and I was glue to the pages from page one. It was painful, it was raw , it was honest, the kind of wreck you can’t stop watching and just draws you deeper and deeper. That’s how I felt reading Rival and I loved every minute of it.

“Feeling strangely disconnected from the girl I used to be yet so glad to have found her again.”

           Madoc and Fallon go back in time. Back when their parents made choices that book them and  took away the love and gift they had *Wink-Wink* leaving them with a future they were not let to choose but forced to live it. Until the tables turn and Fallon is looking to fix was done to her, making everyone involved aware of her intentions. What she didn’t bargain for was how Madoc still makes her feel every time he looks her way, how vulnerable, how mad, how real she feels. And for Madoc is just the same; What he can’t understand is what is she doing home when she choose to leave them behind and never look back. Can the secrets that kept them apart be the ones to bring them together?

“Madoc was always calm, after all. So calm all the damn time growing up. He didn’t shout or show his anger until he’d had enough. And you never knew exactly when that was going to be. That was the scary part about him.”

               What I liked: I think Fallon was an awesome lead heroine. She was strong, opinionated, she was different and she knew it. Fallon never blend into her surroundings but she also never shone, choosing to stay hidden from everyone, Except her Step-Brother. He was the one that got under every layer of her skin. I loved how he book really told their history instead of just glimpses into the past; As a reader you get a clear perspective of how things where before and how they got to where they were. Madoc was consider, used to getting his way and always being serve with a silver spoon; He was also charming and Hot. I totally understood Madoc and why he reacted the way he did after so many years, specially when you didn’t know what happened. I liked how things didn’t fix themselves and how they had to really move pass some issues, I loved how they early on figured that they only way to move on is to forgive and communicate.

“Mistakes can be dealt with. Loss of time can’t.”

          I personally dint find any flaws with the story lines. They were so many twist and turns;  some you could guess while other left me felling like “What The Heck” But it made for a whole lot of drama, exactly what I was looking for. That being said there where some things that left me felling Shocked and unsure of why they were happening, but I guess that made them happy right? Where Bully left me in tears – Both , from happiness and sadness – I found this book to be a little bit more slow-paced, which was fine when you consider everything going on.

“You’ve always wanted me. You know why? Because I don’t try to kill your demons. I run with them.”

I loved that we go to see my beloved Jared and Tate and how good they are doing  and I am super exited for Falling away ,which is KC and Jax story ( Really, any guy name Jax is a 10 in my book)

Hope you like this and have and awesome day! 😀

Hey, Hey! what do you think!?

