Book Review: Stepbrother Dearest By Penelope Ward

22843341Tittle: Stepbrother Dearest

Author: Penelope Ward

Length: 265 Pages

Series: Standalone

Publisher: …? Self?

Published Date: September 29th. 2014

Gender: New Adult, Contemporary,and Romance.

Rating: ★★★★ ( 4 OUT OF 5).

How I got it?:  Ebook

You’re not supposed to want the one who torments you. 
When my stepbrother, Elec, came to live with us my senior year, I wasn’t prepared for how much of a jerk he’d be.
I hated that he took it out on me because he didn’t want to be here.
I hated that he brought girls from our high school back to his room.
But what I hated the most was the unwanted way my body reacted to him.
At first, I thought all he had going for him were his rock-hard tattooed abs and chiseled face. Then, things started changing between us, and it all came to a head one night.
Just as quickly as he’d come into my life, he was gone back to California.
It had been years since I’d seen Elec.
When tragedy struck our family, I’d have to face him again.
And holy hell, the teenager who made me crazy was now a man who drove me insane.
I had a feeling my heart was about to get broken again.

My thoughts

The cover

I think we should all just stop for a second and admire the perfection of the man in that cover, Starting Now.

Done? Good. 🙂

It was solely reason I picked up this book

The book

“I want to be the only one to show you everything and to be the one you’ll always remember for the rest of your life.”

All jokes aside I picked up this book because one I saw on of my Instagram friends posted a picture of it and as I tent to do I always read the first page (Even when I’m not going to read the book) just to get a feeling of the book. But one page turned into 2 then 5 then 20 then the inevitable 265 ending page. It was a lot more intense and dramatic that I first thought it would be, Of course I thought it was going to be a light, fun read. But I was wrong. It was extremely HOT, I loved how much chemistry Elec and Great had, It was of the charts. The struggles they when through. That being said,I would say this book is for more mature people, maybe older than 16…. I think.

“You were the best thing that ever happen to me. I hope that someday I can say you were one of the best, but for now, it’s only you.”

Throughout the story we follow HS senior, 17 years-old Greta. Her mom got marries a while ago and she is just getting ready to receive her stepbrother, whom she’s never met, who is going to spend a year living with them while his mom moves to another country for work. But she was not prepares for Elec;  the hot, charismatic and seriously annoying pain in the ass guys he is. He is out to get her and make his dad pay through her. But even through all of their bickering and pranks and name calling, she still sees something in him and hopes that all he does to her is to put up a front and fake. And Elec is not as unaffected as he would like to be. Their relation ship takes time to build and has a lot of flaws and that’s what made it so much real. They were finally there, on the verge if an important decision …Until something happens and that connection they have is threaten one night. One Night everything changes , hearts are broken , promises never given and years go by. Until a tragedy struck the family and Elec is forced back to the place he thought he would never see while Greta is struggling with her last memories from Elec and feeling towards him. But things have change for Elec, he is not the same immature boy and now more people are involved.

“The “one that got away” was supposed to stay away, not come back and leave you all over again.”

Its kind of taboo story, The step-siblings, But the way it was written made you forget about it. They were kind of perfect and actually it seemed like they lived alone. There was a TOTAL LACK of parental authority  Because come one, you get two attractive teens under one roof, and they are not related and to top it off spend most of their time alone? what do you  think its going to happen?

“You’re the only girl in the entire world that’s forbidden, and fuck me if that doesn’t make me want you more than anything.”

I think this was a lovely book. I laughed out loud, I cried I pinned for Elec and i felt Greta’s heart-break over and over. To me the book had some problems , I didn’t really feel like Greta grew AT ALL. in the seven years they were apart. She was still the same girl, not there was something wrong, it’s just that she felt more like a doormat than a character.I can understand what she saw in Elec, and I can see how much chemistry they had, She was always there when he needed someone but after a while ou just get tire of being wanted only when you cant help yourself. On the other side, ELEC! Penelope Ward hit all the right spots with him. He was opinionated, funny, hot and deep down very nice. I loved Senior Elec and I loved frown up Elec. He was A-mazing. and even thought I felt like punching him after the second time ( You know what was that) After reading what he wrote, I cried. Like a baby. And I really understood why he did things the way he did. That ending gosh!  ❤ I freaking loved it soooo much! It was so hot!

“I never had a problem with the way you look at me. My issue is the way it makes me feel when you look at me: things I’m not supposed to feel, things I can’t let myself feel for you. At the same time …nothing felt worse than when you stopped looking at me, Greta.”

I would recommend this book if you like Sexy reads, if you like guys who really know how to redeem themself and want a story that will make you smile at the end of it. ❤

Hey, Hey! what do you think!?

