Book and movie Review: If I Stay by Gayle Forman :D

if i stayTittle: If I Stay

Author: Gayle Forman

Length: 201 Pages

Publisher: Dutton Juvenile

Published Date: April 2. 2009.

Gender: Young Adult, Contemporary, music and Romance.

Rating: ★★★★ ( 4 OUT OF 5). 😦

How I got it?:  EBook

Warning: SPOILERS!

Just listen, Adam says with a voice that sounds like shrapnel

I open my eyes wide now.
I sit up as much as I can.
And I listen.

Stay, he says.

Choices. Seventeen-year-old Mia is faced with some tough ones: Stay true to her first love—music—even if it means losing her boyfriend and leaving her family and friends behind?

Then one February morning Mia goes for a drive with her family, and in an instant, everything changes. Suddenly, all the choices are gone, except one. And it’s the only one that matters.

My thoughts:

“…Sometimes you make choices in life and sometimes choices make you. Does that make any sense?”

  • The Book: 17-year-old Mia, has it all. Cool parents, cute brothers, hot rocker boyfriend, best friend and most importantly she already knows what she wants to do with her life has found what she excels at, The cello. But one morning turned everything around and now Mia has to decide if she wants to stay and face her new life or go and be with the people she loves. everything that matter before; He awesome older and “famous” boyfriend  that letter that was going to change her life , her best friend and the photos. It doesn’t mater anymore. Now is stay or go.

“If I stay. If I live. It’s up to me.”

OH MY GOD. To say I loved this book is not enough, I should write a song but like Adam I’ m only good at sad moments. I regret not reading it before because I freaking loved it. The book was from Mia point of view and it kept flipping between present and past, giving us glimpses of what life was for her before the accident. It is a short book and I read it in 2 days;  the writing is so beautiful and yet very simple. Gayle Forman created this stay between wakefulness and sleep that grabbed me and some how a book that I didn’t want to finish in the beginning made me cry and sob and smile and fall in love again and again. All the characters in this books are lovable, Mia is deciding what to do after high school , stay with her Adam or go to NYC and do the thing she loves the most. But when life hits her and takes everything away from her ,she is torn.I felt so much for Mia, such a nice girl and throughout the book I was so undecided on what she should have done. I Loved her parents and her brother and Kim. But life is a gift and as she said Mama Bear would have been furious.

“I don’t really care. I shouldn’t have to care. I shouldn’t have to work this hard. I realize now that dying is easy. Living is hard.”

This book was a book about life. How life can hit you . Take everything away from you. It can  Break you , leave you literally broken in the side of the road. But It can also give you hope, love. And in some way it can mend you and it can be beautiful. I shed tears of happiness and sorrow with If I stay and I’m so glad I did.

“This is the you I like. You definitely dressed sexier and are, you know, blond, and that’s different. But the you who are tonight is the same you I was in love with yesterday, the same you I’ll be in love with tomorrow. I love that you’re fragile and tough, quiet and kick-ass. ”

if-i-stay-adam-mia-please-stay

  • The movie: I watched the movie last weekend and I think it was a good representation of the book. There were a couple of things the changed, but then they do that to every movie to make it more visual. I loved all the romance they added with Adam in the movie, GOD did I love Adam  He was perfect. The script was so much like the book ans I was so happy for that, I don’t have the best memory but some parts of the book I could quote and that made me happy 😀 the thing I didn’t like was Mia, well Chloe Monzet , I didn’t dislike her but I think there was something off with her in the movie, I didn’t really feel any desperation as I felt in the book I didn’t cry with her in the book, It wasn’t bad but I expected more, that said she did look gorgeous and for most of the movie it was okay. Now gramps? I cried like a baby. I think The parents were soooo AMAZING in the movie. ❤ Over all i really liked it even though at times I felt like it was dragging just to make it the hour and a half i think that It was. That is the only reason my rating came down from a five.

“Losing me will hurt; it will be the kind of pain that won’t feel real at first, and when it does, it will take her breath away.”

Honor mention:

“It’s okay,’ he tells me. ‘If you want to go. Everyone wants you to stay. I want you to stay more than I’ve ever wanted anything in my life.’ His voice cracks with emotion. He stops, clears his throat, takes a breath, and continues. ‘But that’s what I want and I could see why it might not be what you want. So I just wanted to tell you that I understand if you go. It’s okay if you have to leave us. It’s okay if you want to stop fighting.’

And because Adam is THAT perfect and my favorite band is fictional here it goes:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yg311gA__BE

Hey, Hey! what do you think!?

