Book Review: The real Thing By Cassie Mae

20890044Tittle: The Real Thing

Author: Cassie Mae

Length: 25 Pages

Publisher: Flirt

Published Date: August 19th, 2014.

Gender: New Adult, Contemporary and Romance.

Rating: ★★★ ( 3 OUT OF 5). 😦

How I got it?:  Netgalley

 

Eric Matua has one friend—his best friend and childhood sweetheart, who needs a place to stay for the summer. Mia Johnson has thousands of friends—who live in her computer. Along with her email chats and Facebook notifications, Mia also devours romance novels, spending countless hours with fictional characters, dreaming of her own Romeo to sweep her off her feet. When she starts receiving supersweet messages from a stranger who thinks she’s someone else, Mia begins to believe that real love is possible outside her virtual world.
 
When the two friends become roommates, Mia finds herself falling harder than she ever thought she could. But Eric keeps his desires locked away, unsure of himself and his ability to give his best friend what she deserves in a boyfriend. As her advances are continually spurned, Mia splits her time between Eric and her computer. But she soon realizes she’s about to lose the only real thing she’s ever had.

I recibed this book as a ARC from netgalley in exchange for a honest review.

My thoughts

“Scary things can be beautiful”

I don’t know how to start with this review. It’s not that I didn’t  like it, I did. It just wasn’t what I was expecting. This Book is a nice love story and really sweet But… It could have been better. Don’t get me wrong, it is good but to me the characters were a little  bit too dramatic , the communication between them was awful, and I didn’t feel the chemistry there.(I hate when I have to do this ugh!)

So, we have Eric and Mia who have been friends for years, the like each other, they accept each other and they both have harvest feeling for each other since forever ago. Now it’s summer and Mia is rooming with Eric in Florida in his family apartment. They haven’t seen each other for years ( Since High School) in person , only Internet. And Mia is more than surprise to find that her big , cute and a little bit heavy friend is not really that heavy anymore, but a hot and sexy BFF. Eric is more than exited to spend his summer with Mia, but even if he is happy he is not the same person. After years battling with his weight he is almost where he wants to be, but inside he is one messed up dude, still carrying the weight of his old relationship. Now under the same roof things are getting intimate. But when reality gets between them and there is a stranger sweet talking Mia and she is virtually “safe”with him, things could get complicated when her internet obsession gets between her and Eric.

“I think only bookworms understand the kind of power stories can have on a person”

Awesome right? It was the execution of the idea that I found lacking, the idea is hot and amazing.

I think I have talked to much of the things I didn’t like, I think is time I talk about what I did like.I loved the use of technology in the book, we see all the social media and how true it all is. I love how she loves books and they are a essential park of her. I love how the writing was so true to the book and how funny Mia was most of the times. I actually liked the time they would argue because those where the times you could really see how the felt and the thing I loved the most was the switch roles. I am so used to always reading about the girls having body image problems and the boys always being confident and hot and dominant but in this book I was happily surprised. In this book roles are switch, Eric is still not comfortable and that is intruding in his relationship with Mia.

I found that Eric gave a great development after the second half, he started speaking up his mind, he was up front and he was very very sweet. Mia on the other hand I felt like punching in the face with some of the things she did that were super considered to Eric. But i guess that is life, We some times get stuck in this web of misconceptions and fears that pull us from what could be. We are so afraid of losing something that we don’t realize that what we love is some times already gone, ans its all our fault.

“I can’t tell if I hear your heart beating, or if it’s mine,” I say against his skin.
“Aren’t they the same thing?”

SEE? SO sweet!

I Would say to read it at your own risk, It is a sweet story  but is not A hot passionate love. If you read it let em know what you think 😀 

Hey, Hey! what do you think!?

