Book Review: Truly By Ruthie Knox.

TRULY-final-600x800

Tittle: Truly (New York #1)

Author: Ruthie Knox

Length: 319 Pages.

Publisher: Random House

Published Date: August 4th, 2014.

Gender:  Adult, Contemporary and Romance.

Rating: ★★★. 5  ( 3.5OUT OF 5).

How I got it?: Netgalley

I got this book through Netgalley in exchange of an honest review 🙂 Here it goes.

May Fredericks hates New York. Which is fair enough, since New York seems to hate her back. Just weeks after moving from Wisconsin to Manhattan, she receives the world’s worst marriage proposal, stabs her boyfriend with a shrimp fork in a very public venue, and accidentally becomes notorious. And that’s before she gets mugged.

At her wit’s end, May washes up at a Packers bar in Greenwich Village, where she meets a surly, unhelpful guy who hates her shoes and calls her ex a douche.

His name is Ben. He used to be a chef. Now he’s a rooftop beekeeper with anger management issues. She wouldn’t even like him, but he reminds her of home … and he knows where to find all the best food in the Village.

She makes him laugh. He buys her tacos and cowboy boots. The longer they’re stuck together, the better May and Ben get along … and the harder they fall. TRULY is a quirky, modern New York love story unlike any you’ve read before.

My thoughts

” She wondered if she ever would”

      Imagine having the NFL boyfriend who no one thought you could and would get? The one who plays in your favorite team? Now imagine he proposes to you on national television and tells every one how you being boring is the reason he can perform better. Now imagine how you stab him in the hand and run away just to get mugged and left alone in NYC where you dont know anyone. Yes, that was what May was going throw. Then she meet Ben, the packers fan who was rude and self-centered and had some really nad temperament and the last thing he wants and needs is to be dealing With too sweet, too cute May from Wisconsin. The one place where he swore he was never going back. Can sweet fallow along may get any thing from harden new yorker Ben?

    I found this book to be very entertaining. I really liked May and Ben. The reason I give it a 3. 5 rating is because the first half of the book, to me dragged on for too long. But after that i was on the edge of my bed and loved it. I would say I wasn’t as connected of identified with the characters as would have liked it, because i am not and havent meet anyone like them in life.

” And even if he leaves for good, I have learned to be that person he sees. I have to decide whether I’m going to be her all the time, or whether to settle for less, even knowing I could have had more”

I think the meaning of this book when on deeper and is very important though. It taught me that we have to stand up for what we want and that we can’t let people decide who we are. No matter how important they are. The right person will find us and love us. That was what i got from May and Ben’s story. two people who couldn’t be more different and after they tried and failed they meet the right person under the most incredible circumstances and is like May said:

” Yes,” She said to the bubbles. ” It does happen.” She turned and looked at her mother ” This kind of thing happened to us. And it’s not a fairy tale, or a fantasy, or any kind of crazy magic. It’s just the way life happened, this time, to me. So stop trying to tell me that it didn’t or that I don’t know what I want, because I do. I know exactly what i want. And honestly, It’s about fucking time.”

I would recomment this to anyoen who likes sweet , nice romances. It will warm you heart and wabt your very own Nee York chef, who will ove you and cherish you . in hiw onw way that is.

 

Hey, Hey! what do you think!?

